Whanganuilibrary.com
Normal view MARC view ISBD view

Close to home / Lisa Jackson.

By: Jackson, Lisa [author.].
Material type: materialTypeLabelBookNew York : Kensington Publishing Corp., 2014Edition: First Kensington Hardcover Edition.Description: 424 pages ; 24 cm.Content type: text Media type: unmediated Carrier type: volumeISBN: 9780758258595 (hardback); 0758258593 (hardback).Subject(s): Single mothers -- Fiction | Haunted houses -- Fiction | Missing persons -- Fiction | Oregon -- FictionGenre/Form: Thrillers (Fiction)DDC classification: 813/.54
Contents:
"[A]n atmospheric and riveting novel of suspense that uncovers the horrifying secrets buried within a ramshackle house. . . Vowing to make a fresh start, Sarah McAdams has come home to renovate the old Victorian mansion where she grew up. Her daughters, Jade and Gracie, aren't impressed by the rundown property on the shores of Oregon's wild Columbia River. As soon as they pull up the isolated drive, Sarah too is beset by uneasy memories--of her cold, distant mother, of the half-sister who vanished without a trace, and of a long-ago night when Sarah was found on the widow's walk, feverish and delirious. Ever since the original mistress of the house plunged to her death almost a century ago, there have been rumors that the place is haunted. As a girl, Sarah sensed a presence there, and soon Gracie claims to see a lady in white running up the stairs. Still, Sarah has little time to dwell on ghost stories, between overseeing construction and dealing with the return of a man from her past. But there's a new, more urgent menace in the small town. One by one, teenage girls are disappearing. Frantic for her daughters' safety, Sarah feels her veneer cracking and the house's walls closing in on her again. Somewhere deep in her memory is the key to a very real and terrifying danger. And only by confronting her worst fears can she stop the nightmare roaring back to life once more" --
Summary: "Vowing to make a fresh start, Sarah McAdams has come home to renovate the old Victorian mansion where she grew up. Her daughters, Jade and Gracie, aren't impressed by the rundown property on the shores of Oregon's wild Columbia River. As soon as they pull up the isolated drive, Sarah too is beset by uneasy memories--of her cold, distant mother, of the half-sister who vanished without a trace, and of a long-ago night when Sarah was found on the widow's walk, feverish and delirious. Ever since the original mistress of the house plunged to her death almost a century ago, there have been rumors that the place is haunted. As a girl, Sarah sensed a presence there, and soon Gracie claims to see a lady in white running up the stairs. Still, Sarah has little time to dwell on ghost stories, between overseeing construction and dealing with the return of a man from her past. But there's a new, more urgent menace in the small town. One by one, teenage girls are disappearing. Frantic for her daughters' safety, Sarah feels her veneer cracking and the house's walls closing in on her again. Somewhere deep in her memory is the key to a very real and terrifying danger. And only by confronting her worst fears can she stop the nightmare roaring back to life once more" -- from publisher's web site.
Tags from this library: No tags from this library for this title. Log in to add tags.
Fiction notes: Click to open in new window
    average rating: 0.0 (0 votes)
Item type Current location Collection Call number Copy number Status Date due
Fiction Davis (Central) Library
Fiction Collection
Fiction Collection JAC 3 Available
Fiction Davis (Central) Library
Fiction Collection
Fiction Collection JAC 5 Checked out 27/06/2019
Fiction Gonville Cafe Library
Fiction Collection
Fiction Collection JAC 1 Checked out 01/07/2019

Enhanced descriptions from Syndetics:

From #1 New York Times bestselling author Lisa Jackson comes an atmospheric and riveting novel of suspense that uncovers the horrifying secrets buried within a ramshackle house. . .

Vowing to make a fresh start, Sarah McAdams has come home to renovate the old Victorian mansion where she grew up. Her daughters, Jade and Gracie, aren't impressed by the rundown property on the shores of Oregon's wild Columbia River. As soon as they pull up the isolated drive, Sarah too is beset by uneasy memories--of her cold, distant mother, of the half-sister who vanished without a trace, and of a long-ago night when Sarah was found on the widow's walk, feverish and delirious. 

Ever since the original mistress of the house plunged to her death almost a century ago, there have been rumors that the place is haunted. As a girl, Sarah sensed a presence there, and soon Gracie claims to see a lady in white running up the stairs. Still, Sarah has little time to dwell on ghost stories, between overseeing construction and dealing with the return of a man from her past.

But there's a new, more urgent menace in the small town. One by one, teenage girls are disappearing. Frantic for her daughters' safety, Sarah feels her veneer cracking and the house's walls closing in on her again. Somewhere deep in her memory is the key to a very real and terrifying danger. And only by confronting her worst fears can she stop the nightmare roaring back to life once more. . .

"[A]n atmospheric and riveting novel of suspense that uncovers the horrifying secrets buried within a ramshackle house. . . Vowing to make a fresh start, Sarah McAdams has come home to renovate the old Victorian mansion where she grew up. Her daughters, Jade and Gracie, aren't impressed by the rundown property on the shores of Oregon's wild Columbia River. As soon as they pull up the isolated drive, Sarah too is beset by uneasy memories--of her cold, distant mother, of the half-sister who vanished without a trace, and of a long-ago night when Sarah was found on the widow's walk, feverish and delirious. Ever since the original mistress of the house plunged to her death almost a century ago, there have been rumors that the place is haunted. As a girl, Sarah sensed a presence there, and soon Gracie claims to see a lady in white running up the stairs. Still, Sarah has little time to dwell on ghost stories, between overseeing construction and dealing with the return of a man from her past. But there's a new, more urgent menace in the small town. One by one, teenage girls are disappearing. Frantic for her daughters' safety, Sarah feels her veneer cracking and the house's walls closing in on her again. Somewhere deep in her memory is the key to a very real and terrifying danger. And only by confronting her worst fears can she stop the nightmare roaring back to life once more" --

"Vowing to make a fresh start, Sarah McAdams has come home to renovate the old Victorian mansion where she grew up. Her daughters, Jade and Gracie, aren't impressed by the rundown property on the shores of Oregon's wild Columbia River. As soon as they pull up the isolated drive, Sarah too is beset by uneasy memories--of her cold, distant mother, of the half-sister who vanished without a trace, and of a long-ago night when Sarah was found on the widow's walk, feverish and delirious. Ever since the original mistress of the house plunged to her death almost a century ago, there have been rumors that the place is haunted. As a girl, Sarah sensed a presence there, and soon Gracie claims to see a lady in white running up the stairs. Still, Sarah has little time to dwell on ghost stories, between overseeing construction and dealing with the return of a man from her past. But there's a new, more urgent menace in the small town. One by one, teenage girls are disappearing. Frantic for her daughters' safety, Sarah feels her veneer cracking and the house's walls closing in on her again. Somewhere deep in her memory is the key to a very real and terrifying danger. And only by confronting her worst fears can she stop the nightmare roaring back to life once more" -- from publisher's web site.

2 3 5 7 8 11 13 18 19 22 24 34 37 49 61 67 68 69 76 77 83 92 93 94 96 97 98 103 105 111 115 130 132 133 134 135 138 141 147 149 151 159 165 168 175

Kotui multi-version record.

SDAFIC

Reviews provided by Syndetics

Publishers Weekly Review

A haunted house provides the stage for this exciting novel of romantic suspense from bestseller Jackson (You Don't Want to Know). Following her divorce, Sarah McAdams decides to makes a fresh start by moving back to her abandoned childhood home, a dilapidated, century-old mansion named Blue Peacock Manor on Oregon's Columbia River. Sarah's 17-year-old daughter, Jade, is angry with her mother for forcing her to move away from her friends and boyfriend in Vancouver, Wash., while her 12-year-old daughter, Gracie, insists that ghosts inhabit the manor. When young girls in a nearby town mysteriously vanish, Sarah fears for her own daughters' safety. Despite Jade's constant rebellion, Sarah remains determined to unearth the truth behind the disappearance of one of the manor's former occupants as well as the disappearance of her own sister. Clint, an old flame from whom Sarah hid some important secrets years ago, adds romantic spice. Agent: Robin Rue, Writers House. (Sept.) © Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.

Booklist Review

Contrary to what her daughters believe, Sarah McAdams knows they all need a fresh start in life, and Blue Peacock Manor, her family's old home, is their ticket to a better life. Renovation could be Sarah's middle name, and all she has to do is restore the rundown estate to its former glory, and then she and her sibling co-owners can reap the rewards. Of course, no remodeling project is without its share of obstacles, but Sarah is determined not to let either the rumors that Blue Peacock Manor is haunted or the recent presence of her old flame, Clint Walsh, stop her. However, when teenage girls start disappearing one-by-one, Sarah begins to wonder if she should be less worried about old ghosts and more concerned with a modern-day fiend somewhere in the neighborhood. Best-selling author Jackson definitely knows how to jangle readers' nerves, and Close to Home is perfect for readers of Joy Fielding's suspense novels and fans of Mary Higgins Clark who don't mind a bit more graphic grit in their stories.--Charles, John Copyright 2014 Booklist