Whanganuilibrary.com
Normal view MARC view ISBD view

Second chances / Charity Norman.

By: Norman, Charity.
Contributor(s): Norman, Charity. After the fall.
Material type: materialTypeLabelBookPublisher: Crows Nest, N.S.W. : Allen & Unwin, c2012Description: 357 pages ; 24 cm.Content type: text Media type: unmediated Carrier type: volumeISBN: 9781742379579 (pbk.).Other title: 2nd chances.Subject(s): Children's accidents -- Fiction | Families -- Fiction | Loyalty -- Fiction | Mothers and sons -- Fiction | Children's accidents Fiction | Family secrets -- Fiction | Immigrants -- New Zealand -- Fiction | Farm life -- New Zealand -- Fiction | English -- New Zealand -- Fiction | New Zealand fiction -- 21st century | New Zealand -- FictionGenre/Form: Psychological fiction. | Thrillers (Fiction) | Domestic fiction. | New Zealand fiction. | General fiction.DDC classification: NOR
Contents:
In the New Zealand winter, a rescue helicopter airlifts a five-year-old boy with severe internal injuries. He's fallen from the second floor verandah of a farmhouse, and may not survive. At first, his fall looks like an accident, but only Martha, his mother, knows what really happened and she's not telling. Martha moved them from England to New Zealand for a fresh start, but now she's faced with decisions with potentially devastating consequences. She's torn between loyalty to her family and her need to protect them.
Summary: In the quiet of a winter's night, the rescue helicopter is sent to airlift a five-year-old boy with severe internal injuries. He's fallen from the upstairs verandah of an isolated farmhouse, and may not last the next few hours. At first, Finn's fall looks like a horrible accident; after all, he's prone to sleepwalking. Only his frantic mother, Martha McNamara, knows how it really happened. And she isn't telling. Not yet. Maybe not ever. Martha only wants the best for her family. That's why she moved heaven and earth to move them to the other side of the world, to start their lives afresh. And now she's faced with decisions she never dreamed she'd have to make, decisions with potentially devastating consequences. She's torn between her loyalty to her family and her need to protect them. What do you do when your dream escape turns into a nightmare - and is there ever a way back?
List(s) this item appears in: 9. Your Best Reads of 2017
Tags from this library: No tags from this library for this title. Log in to add tags.
    average rating: 0.0 (0 votes)
Item type Current location Collection Call number Copy number Status Date due
Fiction Davis (Central) Library
Fiction Collection
Fiction Collection NOR 1 Checked out 02/10/2019

Enhanced descriptions from Syndetics:

A rich and warm novel of family, divided loyalties and complicated relationships - for readers who love Jodi Picoult or Caroline Overington.

In the New Zealand winter, a rescue helicopter airlifts a five-year-old boy with severe internal injuries. He's fallen from the second floor verandah of a farmhouse, and may not survive. At first, his fall looks like an accident, but only Martha, his mother, knows what really happened and she's not telling. Martha moved them from England to New Zealand for a fresh start, but now she's faced with decisions with potentially devastating consequences. She's torn between loyalty to her family and her need to protect them.

In the quiet of a winter's night, the rescue helicopter is sent to airlift a five-year-old boy with severe internal injuries. He's fallen from the upstairs verandah of an isolated farmhouse, and may not last the next few hours. At first, Finn's fall looks like a horrible accident; after all, he's prone to sleepwalking. Only his frantic mother, Martha McNamara, knows how it really happened. And she isn't telling. Not yet. Maybe not ever. Martha only wants the best for her family. That's why she moved heaven and earth to move them to the other side of the world, to start their lives afresh. And now she's faced with decisions she never dreamed she'd have to make, decisions with potentially devastating consequences. She's torn between her loyalty to her family and her need to protect them. What do you do when your dream escape turns into a nightmare - and is there ever a way back?

2 7 11 18 19 27 28 32 39 61 80 82 83 89 93 96 97 98 105 115 119 120 126 132 135 138 142 144 149 161 162 164 165 168 175 180 182 183 184 189

SNSTAFFPICKS

GY_NZFIC