Whanganuilibrary.com
Normal view MARC view ISBD view

Death watch / Jim Kelly.

By: Kelly, Jim, 1957-.
Material type: materialTypeLabelBookSeries: DI Peter Shaw and DS George Valentine: 2.Publisher: New York : Minotaur Books, 2010Edition: First U.S. edition.Description: 454 pages ; 22 cm.Content type: text Media type: unmediated Carrier type: volumeISBN: 9780312644901 (hbk.).Subject(s): Police -- England -- Norfolk -- Fiction | Murder -- Investigation -- Fiction | Twins -- Fiction | Missing persons -- FictionGenre/Form: Detective and mystery fiction.DDC classification: [Fic]
Tags from this library: No tags from this library for this title. Log in to add tags.
Fiction notes: Click to open in new window
    average rating: 0.0 (0 votes)
Item type Current location Collection Call number Copy number Status Date due
Large Print Davis (Central) Library
Large Print
Large Print KEL 1 Available

Enhanced descriptions from Syndetics:

"Ever since the days of Agatha Christie, the great divide in the British detective story has been between plot and character...The novels of Jim Kelly are. . . a find." -The New York Times Book Review

Rookie detective Peter Shaw teams up with his father's tough ex-partner to investigate both a gruesome series of present-day murders and some unfinished business from the past, in Death Watch , the second book in the Detective Shaw Mystery series.

5 11 37 74 77 100

Reviews provided by Syndetics

Library Journal Review

First the corpse of a man whose sister disappeared 18 years earlier is found in a high-tech hospital incinerator; then a homeless shelter is torched, and more bodies whose organs have been surgically removed are found in the West Norfolk area. As detective Peter Shaw and his team investigate, he and DS George Valentine, his father's old partner, reopen a cold case that had ended his father's career and had led to Valentine's demotion. VERDICT In this second procedural featuring Shaw and Valentine (after Death Wore White), Kelly spins his yarn into a complicated cat's cradle of intersecting plot lines and converging motives that lead to a shockingly unexpected ending. Shaw and Valentine's relationship adds spice since neither man trusts the other. Fans of P.D. James and Stuart MacBride will enjoy this fine crime novel. (c) Copyright 2010. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Publishers Weekly Review

British author Kelly's winning second police procedural pairing West Norfolk Det. Insp. Peter Shaw with Det. Sgt. George Valentine, Shaw's late father's former partner (after 2009's Death Wore White), neatly balances several intricate story lines. Exactly 18 years to the day after 15-year-old Norma Jean Judd vanished in 1992, her twin brother Bryan's corpse turns up in a hospital incinerator. The case is assigned to Shaw, who's unaware that his father, Det. Chief Insp. Jack Shaw, handled Norma Jean's disappearance. After breaking the devastating news to the surviving Judds, Shaw manages to save a man from a nearby burning building and ends up with another puzzle: who's "the Organ Grinder" the near-victim was so frightened of that he initially resisted rescue? On top of those mysteries, Kelly tosses in new developments in the case that ended the elder Shaw's career and led to Valentine's demotion. This clever series will appeal to fans of Peter Lovesey and Reginald Hill. (June) (c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved