Whanganuilibrary.com
Normal view MARC view ISBD view

A father's revenge / Kitty Neale.

By: Neale, Kitty.
Material type: TextTextPublisher: London : Avon, 2011Description: 392 pages ; 20 cm.Content type: text Media type: unmediated Carrier type: volumeISBN: 9781847562432 (pbk.); 1847562434 (pbk.).Subject(s): Mothers -- Fiction | Inheritance and succession -- Fiction | Criminals -- England -- London -- Fiction | Battersea (London, England) -- FictionGenre/Form: Domestic fiction. | General fiction. DDC classification: 823.92 Summary: Thirteen years have passed since Kevin Dolby was sent to prison for robbery with violence. In the meantime, his ex wife Pearl Button has divorced him and remarried, determined to protect her son from knowing who his real father is. Then she hears two pieces of terrifying news -- Kevin Dolby is up for parole and that her dear friend Bessie is gravely ill. Bessie has taken on Nora Dobbs, a young woman and she asks Pearl to take over her care when dies. Pearl, thinking that Bessie will recover from her illness and live for many more years, agrees, but less than a week later, Bessie passes away. Pearl will now have to take over Nora's care and plans to take her to Winchester. However, when Bessie's will is read, she has left the shop and premises to Pearl, yet with a proviso. Pearl not only has to take over Nora's care, she must do it in Battersea, moving into the shop and premises and living there for the rest of Nora's natural life. Then, and only then, can she sell up. While Pearl is persuaded to move back to Battersea, Kevin is granted parole but desperate for money, approaches his parents. Once he gets what he wants Kevin intends to see his son, and nothing is going to stand in his way.
List(s) this item appears in: English Authors historical fiction
Item type Current location Collection Call number Copy number Status Date due Barcode Item holds
Fiction Davis (Central) Library
Fiction Collection
Fiction Collection NEA 1 Available T00540468
Total holds: 0

Enhanced descriptions from Syndetics:

Can she keep her son safe?<br> <br> <br> <br> Previously published as A Father's Revenge. When Pearl's ex-husband Kevin was sent to prison, she left her old life in Battersea behind, determined to protect her son from the truth about his father. But when he dear friend Bessie dies, she is forced to return to the one place she'd rather forget.<br> <br> <br> <br> While Pearl makes plans to take over Bessie's shop, Kevin is released from jail and begins to swindle his parents for money. Once he gets what he wants, he'll soon be after his child.<br> <br> <br> <br> Pearl will do whatever it takes to keep her boy out of his father's reach - but will it be enough?<br> <br> <br> <br> A gripping and emotional family drama from the Sunday Times bestselling author, perfect for fans of Dilly Court and Katie Flynn.

Thirteen years have passed since Kevin Dolby was sent to prison for robbery with violence. In the meantime, his ex wife Pearl Button has divorced him and remarried, determined to protect her son from knowing who his real father is. Then she hears two pieces of terrifying news -- Kevin Dolby is up for parole and that her dear friend Bessie is gravely ill. Bessie has taken on Nora Dobbs, a young woman and she asks Pearl to take over her care when dies. Pearl, thinking that Bessie will recover from her illness and live for many more years, agrees, but less than a week later, Bessie passes away. Pearl will now have to take over Nora's care and plans to take her to Winchester. However, when Bessie's will is read, she has left the shop and premises to Pearl, yet with a proviso. Pearl not only has to take over Nora's care, she must do it in Battersea, moving into the shop and premises and living there for the rest of Nora's natural life. Then, and only then, can she sell up. While Pearl is persuaded to move back to Battersea, Kevin is granted parole but desperate for money, approaches his parents. Once he gets what he wants Kevin intends to see his son, and nothing is going to stand in his way.

2 11 74 138