Whanganuilibrary.com
Normal view MARC view ISBD view
Tags from this library: No tags from this library for this title. Log in to add tags.
Fiction notes: Click to open in new window
    average rating: 0.0 (0 votes)
Item type Current location Collection Call number Copy number Status Date due
Teenage Fiction Davis (Central) Library
Teenage Fiction
Teenage Fiction MEY 3 Checked out 24/07/2018

Enhanced descriptions from Syndetics:

When seventeen-year-old Isabella Swan moves to Forks, Washington to live with her father she expects that her new life will be as dull as the town itself.

In spite of her awkward manner and low expectations, she finds that her new classmates are drawn to this pale, dark-haired new girl in town. But not, it seems, the Cullen family. These five adopted brothers and sisters obviously prefer their own company and will make no exception for Bella.

Bella is convinced that Edward Cullen in particular hates her, but she feels a strange attraction to him, although his hostility makes her feel almost physically ill. He seems determined to push her away - until, that is, he saves her life from an out of control car.

Bella will soon discover that there is a very good reason for Edward's coldness. He, and his family, are vampires - and he knows how dangerous it is for others to get too close.

11 13 37 39 44 45 47 89 109 111 114 115

Kotui multi-version record.

Reviews provided by Syndetics

Library Journal Review

Covering roughly half the first novel of Meyer's megahit paranormal romance, this first volume of the manga-ish version topped sales charts, and, yes, the sequel is coming. When her divorced mom wants to travel with husband No. 2, pretty Bella Swan retreats in a huff to the boonies of Forks, WA, to live with her father. As she eases into her new high school, she falls into an odd love-hate relationship with Edward Cullen, one of the mysterious-and gorgeous-Cullen kids. Romantic interest from other cute guys makes things more complicated, and one fellow knows a bit too much about the Cullens and the local vampire-werewolf turf wars. What's a girl to do? With a superhero vibe enhancing the romantic vampire mystique, the Meyer novel holds all the high seriousness and roiling emotional appeal of 19th-century gothic melodrama while incorporating plenty of action. VERDICT Kim's excellent art elevates a considerably simplified and rather jerky adaptation into a truly pleasurable visual experience: attractive page design, swoonworthy characters, and judicious use of color for special impact. Recommended for public and high school libraries.-M.C. (c) Copyright 2010. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Publishers Weekly Review

Kadushin takes a bite out of Meyer's debut novel, reading the suspenseful vampire romance with gusto and conveying a range of adolescent emotions. When 17-year-old Isabella Swan moves to perpetually rainy, small-town Forks, Wash., to live with her father, she accepts that it will be much duller than life in Phoenix with Mom. But Bella gets more excitement than she bargained for when she falls hard for Edward Cullen, a beautiful, pale boy with a disturbingly deep gaze and eyes that change color. It turns out that Edward and his adoptive family are all vampires, and Bella has entered mysterious, dangerous territory just by associating with them. The drama of everyday high school entertainingly blends with the supernatural as the plot thickens. And Kadushin makes listeners believe Bella's intense feelings of love, confusion and fear as Meyer's tale takes a gripping, unexpected turn toward a somewhat-rushed ending. This enticing production will definitely leave listeners wanting to hear more in this planned trilogy. Ages 12-up. (Sept.) (c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved

School Library Journal Review

Gr 9 Up-Headstrong, sun-loving, 17-year-old Bella declines her mom's invitation to move to Florida, and instead reluctantly opts to move to her dad's cabin in the dreary, rainy town of Forks, WA. She becomes intrigued with Edward Cullen, a distant, stylish, and disarmingly handsome senior, who is also a vampire. When he reveals that his specific clan hunts wildlife instead of humans, Bella deduces that she is safe from his blood-sucking instincts and therefore free to fall hopelessly in love with him. The feeling is mutual, and the resulting volatile romance smolders as they attempt to hide Edward's identity from her family and the rest of the school. Meyer adds an eerie new twist to the mismatched, star-crossed lovers theme: predator falls for prey, human falls for vampire. This tension strips away any pretense readers may have about the everyday teen romance novel, and kissing, touching, and talking take on an entirely new meaning when one small mistake could be life-threatening. Bella and Edward's struggle to make their relationship work becomes a struggle for survival, especially when vampires from an outside clan infiltrate the Cullen territory and head straight for her. As a result, the novel's danger-factor skyrockets as the excitement of secret love and hushed affection morphs into a terrifying race to stay alive. Realistic, subtle, succinct, and easy to follow, Twilight will have readers dying to sink their teeth into it.-Hillias J. Martin, New York Public Library (c) Copyright 2010. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Booklist Review

Gr. 9-12. In the tradition of Anne Rice and YA titles such as Annette Curtis Klause's The0 Silver Kiss 0 (1999) comes this heady romance that intertwines Bella Swan's life with that of Edward, an alluring and tormented vampire. Bella's life changes when she moves to perpetually rain-soaked Forks, Washington. She is instantly drawn to a fellow student, Edward Cullen, beautiful beyond belief and angrily aloof. Bella senses there is more behind Edward's hostility, and in a plot that slowly and frighteningly unfolds, she learns that Edward and his family are vampires--though they do not hunt humans. Yet Edward cannot promise that his powerful attraction to Bella won't put in her in danger, or worse. Recklessly in love, Bella wants only to be with Edward, but when a vicious, blood-lusting predator complicates her world, Bella's peril is brutally revealed. This is a book of the senses: Edward is first attracted by Bella's scent; ironically, Bella is repelled when she sees blood. Their love is palpable, heightened by their touches, and teens will respond viscerally. There are some flaws here--a plot that could have been tightened, an overreliance on adjectives and adverbs to bolster dialogue--but this dark romance seeps into the soul. --Ilene Cooper Copyright 2005 Booklist

Horn Book Review

Isabella, just moved from sunny, warm Phoenix to dismal Forks, Washington, meets the mysterious, aloof Edward Cullen. Drawn by his irresistible good looks and animal magnetism, Bella finds herself falling in love with Edward and determines to unveil the true person behind the impenetrable facade. For older teens, this is a predictable love story laced with adventure and vampirism. (c) Copyright 2010. The Horn Book, Inc., a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted. All rights reserved.

Kirkus Book Review

Sun-loving Bella meets her demon lover in a vampire tale strongly reminiscent of Robin McKinley's Sunshine. When Bella moves to rainy Forks, Wash., to live with her father, she just wants to fit in without drawing any attention. Unfortunately, she's drawn the eye of aloof, gorgeous and wealthy classmate Edward. His behavior toward Bella wavers wildly between apparent distaste and seductive flirtation. Bella learns Edward's appalling (and appealing) secret: He and his family are vampires. Though Edward nobly warns Bella away, she ignores the human boys who court her and chooses her vampiric suitor. An all-vampire baseball game in a late-night thunderstorm--an amusing gothic take on American family togetherness that balances some of the tale's romantic excesses--draws Bella and her loved ones into terrible danger. This is far from perfect: Edward's portrayal as monstrous tragic hero is overly Byronic, and Bella's appeal is based on magic rather than character. Nonetheless, the portrayal of dangerous lovers hits the spot; fans of dark romance will find it hard to resist. (Fantasy. YA) Copyright ┬ęKirkus Reviews, used with permission.