Whanganuilibrary.com
Normal view MARC view ISBD view

A valley dream / Anna Jacobs.

By: Jacobs, Anna.
Material type: TextTextSeries: Jacobs, Anna. Backshaw Moss saga: 1.Publisher: London : Hodder & Stoughton, 2021Copyright date: ©2021Description: 353 pages : illustrations ; 25 cm.Content type: text Media type: unmediated Carrier type: volumeISBN: 9781529353488 (hardback).Subject(s): Cousins -- Fiction | Single women -- Fiction | Families -- England -- Fiction | Dwellings -- Maintenance and repair -- Fiction | Nineteen thirties -- Fiction | Inheritance and succession -- Fiction | Life change events -- Fiction | Widowers -- Fiction | Single fathers -- Fiction | Man-woman relationships -- Fiction | Lancashire (England) -- Fiction | Great Britain -- History -- George V, 1910-1936 -- FictionGenre/Form: Historical fiction. | Domestic fiction. DDC classification: 823.914 Summary: 1935. At thirty-six, Bella Porter is dependent on her abusive cousin, acting as an unpaid servant. When a kind relative leaves her a house in the village of Backshaw Moss, Thomas tries to take it from her, but she defies him and grasps this chance of a new start in Lancashire. It is not going to be easy, though. The house is on the edge of a slum and in a state of disrepair, let out as flats. As kind people help her find her feet, however, her confidence grows and when she meets struggling, widowed father-of-three Ryan, she begins to hope she may find the happy family she's always dreamed of. She's offered partial help with her renovations by the local council who are planning to clear up the slums, but other landlords will do anything to avoid costly improvements and protect their profits. And when Thomas follows her, still after the inheritance, not only is Bella's newfound happiness threatened but also her life. Can her new friends help her rid herself of her tormenter once and for all and finally achieve her valley dream?
Item type Current location Collection Call number Status Date due Barcode Item holds
Express Fiction & Non-fiction Express Fiction & Non-fiction Davis (Central) Library
Express Collection
Express Collection JACO Checked out 30/09/2021 T00833343
Express Fiction & Non-fiction Express Fiction & Non-fiction Davis (Central) Library
Express Collection
Express Collection JACO Available T00833346
Express Fiction & Non-fiction Express Fiction & Non-fiction Davis (Central) Library
Express Collection
Express Collection JACO Available T00833345
Total holds: 0

Enhanced descriptions from Syndetics:

<p> In her heart-warming new Backshaw Moss series, Anna Jacobs takes us through the joys and the trials of life in 1930s Lancashire. <br> <br> 1935. At thirty-six, Bella Porter is dependent on her abusive cousin, acting as an unpaid servant. When a kind relative leaves her a house in the village of Backshaw Moss, Thomas tries to take it from her, but she defies him and grasps this chance of a new start in Lancashire.<br> <br> It is not going to be easy, though. The house is on the edge of a slum and in a state of disrepair, let out as flats. As kind people help her find her feet, however, her confidence grows and when she meets struggling, widowed father-of-three Ryan, she begins to hope she may find the happy family she's always dreamed of.<br> <br> She's offered partial help with her renovations by the local council who are planning to clear up the slums, but other landlords will do anything to avoid costly improvements and protect their profits. And when Thomas follows her, still after the inheritance, not only is Bella's newfound happiness threatened but also her life. Can her new friends help her rid herself of her tormenter once and for all and finally achieve her valley dream?<br> <br> The perfect heart-warming read for fans of Dilly Court, Lyn Andrews and Maureen Lee. <br> <br> Readers love Anna Jacobs' Birch End Series! <br> <br> 'Amazing' - 5 STARS<br> <br> 'Thank you, Anna, for the pleasure you give in all your books' - 5 STARS <br> <br> 'Another brilliant, hard-to-put-down book' - 5 STARS <br> <br> 'Can't wait for the next instalment' - 5 STARS <br> <br> 'A real page turner, I can't wait to read the next one' - 5 STARS <br> <br> 'Another triumph for Anna Jacobs' - 5 STARS <br> <br> 'BRILLIANT READ' - 5 STARS </p>

1935. At thirty-six, Bella Porter is dependent on her abusive cousin, acting as an unpaid servant. When a kind relative leaves her a house in the village of Backshaw Moss, Thomas tries to take it from her, but she defies him and grasps this chance of a new start in Lancashire. It is not going to be easy, though. The house is on the edge of a slum and in a state of disrepair, let out as flats. As kind people help her find her feet, however, her confidence grows and when she meets struggling, widowed father-of-three Ryan, she begins to hope she may find the happy family she's always dreamed of. She's offered partial help with her renovations by the local council who are planning to clear up the slums, but other landlords will do anything to avoid costly improvements and protect their profits. And when Thomas follows her, still after the inheritance, not only is Bella's newfound happiness threatened but also her life. Can her new friends help her rid herself of her tormenter once and for all and finally achieve her valley dream?