Whanganuilibrary.com
Normal view MARC view ISBD view

A memory called Empire / Arkady Martine.

By: Martine, Arkady.
Material type: TextTextSeries: Martine, Arkady. Teixcalaan: 1.Publisher: London, England : Tor, 2020Copyright date: ©2019Description: 464 pages ; 20 cm.Content type: text Media type: unmediated Carrier type: volumeISBN: 9781529001594 (paperback); 1529001595 (paperback).Subject(s): Ambassadors -- Fiction | Murder -- Fiction | Extraterrestrial beings -- FictionGenre/Form: Science fiction. DDC classification: 813.6 Summary: During a time of political instability in the highest echelons of the imperial court, Ambassador Mahit Dzmare arrives in the centre of the multi-system Teixcalaanli Empire only to discover that her predecessor, the previous ambassador from their small but fiercely independent mining Station, has died. But no one will admit that his death wasn't an accident--or that Mahit might be next to die. Now Mahit must discover who is behind the murder, rescue herself, and save her Station from Teixcalaan's unceasing expansion--all while navigating an alien culture that is all too seductive, engaging in intrigues of her own, and hiding a deadly technological secret--one that might spell the end of her Station and her way of life--or rescue it from annihilation.
List(s) this item appears in: Book Chat Fiction notes: Click to open in new window
Item type Current location Collection Call number Status Date due Barcode Item holds
Fiction Davis (Central) Library
Fiction Collection (New)
Fiction Collection (New) MART Checked out 19/04/2021 T00825006
Total holds: 0

Enhanced descriptions from Syndetics:

WINNER OF THE HUGO AWARD FOR BEST NOVEL 2020In a war of lies she seeks the truthAmbassador Mahit Dzmare travels to the Teixcalaanli Empire's interstellar capital, eager to take up her new post. Yet when she arrives, she discovers her predecessor was murdered. But no one will admit his death wasn't accidental - and she might be next.Now Mahit must navigate the capital's enticing yet deadly halls of power, to discover dangerous truths. And while she hunts for the killer, Mahit must somehow prevent the rapacious Empire from annexing her home: a small, fiercely independent mining station.As she sinks deeper into an alien culture that is all too seductive, Mahit engages in intrigues of her own. For she's hiding an extraordinary technological secret, one which might destroy her station and its way of life. Or it might save them from annihilation.An extraordinary science fiction debut, Arkady Martine's first novel in the Texicalaan series, A Memory Called Empire is perfect for fans of John Scalzi, Becky Chambers and Frank Herbert's Dune.SHORTLISTED FOR THE NEBULA AWARD FOR BEST NOVEL 2020 SHORTLISTED FOR THE ARTHUR C. CLARKE AWARD 2020 SHORTLISTED FOR THE GOODREADS CHOICE AWARDS 2019 PRAISE FOR A MEMORY CALLED EMPIRE 'A mesmerizing debut . . . it left me utterly dazzled.' The New York Times Book Review'[A] gorgeously crafted diplomatic space opera . . . Readers will eagerly await the planned sequels to this impressive debut.' Publishers Weekly, starred review'Exquisite . . . a compelling journey with a rich world and fascinating characters' The Los Angeles Times'Interesting, detailed, lavish.' The Wall Street Journal'Contender for debut of the year' SFX Magazine'A Memory Called Empire perfectly balances action and intrigue with matters of empire and identity. All-round brilliant space opera, I absolutely loved it' Ann Leckie, author of Ancillary Justice'Stunning sci-fi debut. An ambassador from a small space station has to survive in the capital of a galactic empire where everyone seems to want her dead. Add in a great will-they-won't-they wlw romantic interest. Awesome' Rick Riordan, author of the Percy Jackson series

First published: 2019.

During a time of political instability in the highest echelons of the imperial court, Ambassador Mahit Dzmare arrives in the centre of the multi-system Teixcalaanli Empire only to discover that her predecessor, the previous ambassador from their small but fiercely independent mining Station, has died. But no one will admit that his death wasn't an accident--or that Mahit might be next to die. Now Mahit must discover who is behind the murder, rescue herself, and save her Station from Teixcalaan's unceasing expansion--all while navigating an alien culture that is all too seductive, engaging in intrigues of her own, and hiding a deadly technological secret--one that might spell the end of her Station and her way of life--or rescue it from annihilation.