Whanganuilibrary.com
Normal view MARC view ISBD view

Small spaces / Sarah Epstein.

By: Epstein, Sarah.
Material type: materialTypeLabelBookPublisher: Newtown, New South Wales : Walker Books Australia, [2018]Copyright date: ©2018Description: 378 pages ; 21 cm.Content type: text Media type: unmediated Carrier type: volumeISBN: 9781921977381; 1921977388; 9781406387032; 1406387037.Subject(s): Mute persons -- Fiction | Selective mutism -- Fiction | Psychic trauma -- Fiction | Secrecy -- Fiction | Teenage girls -- | Imaginary companions -- Fiction | Missing persons -- Fiction | Young adult fictionDDC classification: 823/.92 | A823.4 Summary: "We don't pick and choose what to be afraid of. Our fears pick us." Tash Carmody has been traumatised since childhood, when she witnessed her gruesome imaginary friend Sparrow lure young Mallory Fisher away from a carnival. At the time nobody believed Tash, and she has since come to accept that Sparrow wasn't real. Now fifteen and mute, Mallory's never spoken about the week she went missing. As disturbing memories resurface, Tash starts to see Sparrow again. And she realises Mallory is the key to unlocking the truth about a dark secret connecting them. Does Sparrow exist after all? Or is Tash more dangerous to others than she thinks?
Tags from this library: No tags from this library for this title. Log in to add tags.
    average rating: 0.0 (0 votes)
Item type Current location Collection Call number Status Date due
Teenage Fiction Davis (Central) Library
Teenage Fiction
Teenage Fiction EPST Available

Enhanced descriptions from Syndetics:

Small Spaces is a gripping YA thriller from debut Australian author Sarah Epstein, perfect for fans of Fleur Ferris. 14+. "We don't pick and choose what to be afraid of. Our fears pick us." Tash Carmody has been traumatised since childhood, when she witnessed her gruesome imaginary friend Sparrow lure young Mallory Fisher away from a carnival. At the time nobody believed Tash, and she has since come to accept that Sparrow wasn't real. Now fifteen and mute, Mallory's never spoken about the week she went missing. As disturbing memories resurface, Tash starts to see Sparrow again. And she realises Mallory is the key to unlocking the truth about a dark secret connecting them. Does Sparrow exist after all? Or is Tash more dangerous to others than she thinks? "A beautifully crafted psychological thriller. I couldn't put it down." Fleur Ferris Advance praise: "This gripping debut messes with your head and makes you doubt your own senses. Sarah Epstein smashes it out of the park." (Ellie Marney) "A deliciously creepy YA thriller that reeled me in, made my heart race and kept me guessing to the very end." (Rachael Craw) A writer, illustrator and designer, this is Sarah Epstein's debut novel. She is a rising star of the #LoveOzYA community. Perfect for fans of mysteries and psychological thrillers such as the work of Fleur Ferris, Rebecca James and Paula Hawkins

"We don't pick and choose what to be afraid of. Our fears pick us." Tash Carmody has been traumatised since childhood, when she witnessed her gruesome imaginary friend Sparrow lure young Mallory Fisher away from a carnival. At the time nobody believed Tash, and she has since come to accept that Sparrow wasn't real. Now fifteen and mute, Mallory's never spoken about the week she went missing. As disturbing memories resurface, Tash starts to see Sparrow again. And she realises Mallory is the key to unlocking the truth about a dark secret connecting them. Does Sparrow exist after all? Or is Tash more dangerous to others than she thinks?

For young adults.