Whanganuilibrary.com
Normal view MARC view ISBD view

Maggie and the flying horse / E.D. Baker ; illustrated by Lisa Manuzak.

By: Baker, E. D [author.].
Contributor(s): Manuzak, Lisa [illustrator.].
Material type: TextTextSeries: Baker, E. D. Magic animal rescue: 1.Publisher: New York : Bloomsbury, 2017Description: 112 pages : illustrations ; 21 cm.Content type: text Media type: unmediated Carrier type: volumeISBN: 9781681193120; 1681193124; 9781681191416; 1681191415; 9781408878286; 1408878283.Subject(s): Animals, Mythical -- Juvenile fiction | Imaginary creatures -- Juvenile fiction | Magic -- Juvenile fiction | Magic -- Fiction | Animals, Mythical -- Fiction | Imaginary creatures -- Fiction | JUVENILE FICTION -- Animals | JUVENILE FICTION -- Fairy Tales & Folklore | JUVENILE FICTION -- Fantasy & Magic | Animals, Mythical -- Fiction | Magic -- Fiction | Imaginary creatures -- FictionGenre/Form: Fantasy fiction. | Fantasy fiction. | Fantasy fiction -- Juvenile.Additional physical formats: Online version:: Flying horse.DDC classification: [Fic] Other classification: JUV037000 | JUV001000 | JUV002270 | JUV045000 Summary: To save an injured flying horse, eight-year-old Maggie must journey through the Enchanted Forest, which is full of dangerous trolls and goblins, to find a kindly stableman named Bob, who cares for many different magical animals.
Item type Current location Collection Call number Status Date due Barcode Item holds
Childrens Fiction Davis (Central) Library
Children's Fiction
Children's Fiction BAKE Checked out 12/08/2021 T00628656
Childrens Fiction Davis (Central) Library
Children's Fiction
Children's Fiction BAKE Available T00628651
Total holds: 0

Enhanced descriptions from Syndetics:

<p> From beloved author E. D. Baker comes a brand-new, illustrated chapter book series featuring a spirited heroine and the magical animals and creatures she encounters! <br> <br> Eight-year-old Maggie has a keen eye for noticing things in the Enchanted Forest that no one else does -- like unicorns, griffins, and tiny flying horses with wings. One day while Maggie is herding sheep with her pesky stepbrother, she stumbles upon an injured flying horse. The only way to help the horse is to take it to a kindly stableman named Bob, who cares for many different magical animals! But in order to do so, Maggie must set out on her own and journey through the Enchanted Forest, which is full of dangerous trolls and goblins who get in her way. Will Maggie reach Bob in time to save her new friend?<br> <br> This new, black-and-white illustrated series is perfect for fans of Princess Ponies, Magic Horses, and Critter Club.<br> <br> <br> Look for the more books in the Magic Animal Rescue series:<br> Maggie and the Wish Fish<br> Maggie and the Unicorn<br> Maggie and the Flying Pigs<br> <br> And these other magical series by E.D. Baker:<br> <br> Tales of the Frog Princess<br> The Wide-Awake Princess<br> The Fairy-Tale Matchmaker<br> More Than a Princess<br> <br> and more!</p>

To save an injured flying horse, eight-year-old Maggie must journey through the Enchanted Forest, which is full of dangerous trolls and goblins, to find a kindly stableman named Bob, who cares for many different magical animals.

Reviews provided by Syndetics

School Library Journal Review

Gr 1-4-In Flying Horse, Maggie's father has remarried and her new siblings just don't seem to like her. She has a particularly hard time getting along with stepbrother Peter. He is often short-tempered, and everything she does annoys him. Plus, her stepmother gives her chore after chore, and Maggie can't keep up. Thankfully she lives by the enchanted forest with all its magical creatures-including a kindly unicorn and whimsical fairies. Maggie comes across a tiny flying horse who needs her help. Fortunately, she remembers her grandmother's tales of a man who takes care of magical creatures, and Maggie is determined to find him. Braving mischievous goblins and angry trolls, the girl sets out to save this wee creature, even if it means angering her stepfamily. In Wish Fish, Maggie continues to struggle to be accepted by her unloving stepfamily. Things often go awry with her tasks, and Maggie's punishment usually involves bed without supper. Maggie soon happens upon a talking fish in the enchanted forest who grants her one wish. VERDICT With charming illustrations and short chapters, this new fantasy series will appeal to youngsters who enjoy fairy tales.-Mary Jennings, Camano Island Library, WA © Copyright 2016. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Kirkus Book Review

A lonely, misunderstood girl who pays enough attention to notice magical creatures must help a tiny, winged horse.While Maggie's father chops wood across the forest, she's left with her wicked stepmother, Zelia, and stepsiblings, including awful Peter. Her steps, new to the Enchanted Forest, don't believe Maggie when she tells them about the magical creatures and accuse her of lying to cover up laziness. Zelia threatens to give Maggie's bed to Peter unless Maggie stops with the stories and sticks to chores, then sends Maggie to help Peter tend his sheep. But Maggie falls asleep on the job, and Peter ditches her, leaving her to awaken to goblins! When a tiny flying horse tickles her while she's hiding, Maggie brushes it awaybut accidentally damages its delicate wing. Maggie takes it to Bob the Stableman, a person her grandmother had told her helped magical creatures, but only after cleverly evading a dangerous troll. Bob's a kindred soul and supportive adulta good thing since Maggie's decision to do right by the horse instead of doing chores gives Zelia an excuse to make good on threats. Kids will relate to the injustice and to not feeling heard. The simultaneously publishing sequel, Maggie and the Wish Fish, continues the familial storyline through an encounter with an allegedly wish-granting fish rather than resetting to status quo. All illustrated human characters appear to be white. A strong series opener for sensitive readers. (Fantasy. 7-10) Copyright Kirkus Reviews, used with permission.