Whanganuilibrary.com
Normal view MARC view ISBD view

The good guy/ Susan Beale.

By: Beale, Susan [author].
Material type: materialTypeLabelBookPublisher: London : John Murray, 2016Description: 311 pages ; 23 cm.ISBN: 9781473630345; 1473630347.Subject(s): Self-deception -- Fiction | Marriage -- Fiction | Triangles (Interpersonal relations) -- Fiction | Automobile industry and trade -- Fiction | New England -- FictionGenre/Form: Domestic fiction.Awards: Costa First Novel Award, Shortlist 2016.Summary: Ted, a car-tyre salesman in 1960s suburban New England, is a dreamer who craves admiration. His wife, Abigail, longs for a life of the mind. Single-girl Penny just wants to be loved. When a chance encounter brings Ted and Penny together, he becomes enamoured and begins inventing a whole new life with her at its centre. But when this fantasy collides with reality, the fallout threatens everything, and everyone, he holds dear. 'The Good Guy' is a deeply compelling debut about love, marriage and what happens when good intentions and self-deception are taken to extremes.
Tags from this library: No tags from this library for this title. Log in to add tags.
    average rating: 0.0 (0 votes)
Item type Current location Collection Call number Copy number Status Date due
Fiction Davis (Central) Library
Fiction Collection
Fiction Collection BEA 1 Checked out 10/10/2019

Enhanced descriptions from Syndetics:

SHORTLISTED FOR THE COSTA FIRST NOVEL AWARD 2016

A deeply compelling novel with a Mad Men feel to it set in 1960s suburban America. For fans of The Engagements and Tigers in Red Weather.

Ted, a car-tyre salesman in 1960s suburban New England, is a dreamer who craves admiration. His wife, Abigail, longs for a life of the mind. Single-girl Penny just wants to be loved. When a chance encounter brings Ted and Penny together, he becomes enamoured and begins inventing a whole new life with her at its centre. But when this fantasy collides with reality, the fallout threatens everything, and everyone, he holds dear.

The Good Guy is a deeply compelling debut about love, marriage and what happens when good intentions and self-deception are taken to extremes.

Ted, a car-tyre salesman in 1960s suburban New England, is a dreamer who craves admiration. His wife, Abigail, longs for a life of the mind. Single-girl Penny just wants to be loved. When a chance encounter brings Ted and Penny together, he becomes enamoured and begins inventing a whole new life with her at its centre. But when this fantasy collides with reality, the fallout threatens everything, and everyone, he holds dear. 'The Good Guy' is a deeply compelling debut about love, marriage and what happens when good intentions and self-deception are taken to extremes.

CostaAward2016

Costa First Novel Award, Shortlist 2016.

2 5 7 11 18 19 20 27 34 42 68 76 82 83 94 97 100 102 103 110 111 115 123 132 147 162 164 172 175