Whanganuilibrary.com
Normal view MARC view ISBD view

We shall remember / Emma Fraser.

By: Fraser, Emma, 1960 or 1961- [author].
Material type: materialTypeLabelBookPublisher: London Sphere, 2014Copyright date: ©2014Description: 423 pages ; 20 cm.Content type: text Media type: unmediated Carrier type: volumeISBN: 9780751551228 (paperback).Subject(s): World War, 1939-1945 -- Fiction | Women -- Poland -- Fiction | Jews -- Poland -- Fiction | Poland -- History -- Occupation, 1939-1945 -- FictionGenre/Form: Historical fiction. | Domestic fictionDDC classification: 823.92 Summary: 1939. Irina is a young medical student living in Warsaw when the German army invade Poland. Those closest to her are dying and when Irina realises that no one is coming to Poland's aid, it's clear that she is alone. Forced to flee to England, Irina meets Richard, a RAF pilot who she's instantly drawn to and there's a glimmer of happiness on the horizon. And then the war becomes more brutal and in order to right a never-forgotten wrong Irina must make an impossible decision. 1989. Decades later, Sarah's mother is left a home in Skye and another in Edinburgh following the death of Lord Glendale, a man she's never met, and only on the condition that Magdalena Drobnik, a woman she's never heard of, is no longer alive. Sarah's only clues to this mystery are two photographs she doesn't understand but she's determined to discover the truth, not knowing that she's about to begin a journey that will change her entire life. Gripping, poignant and honest, We Shall Remember is an incredibly powerful story about the choices we make under fire. It will stay with you long after you've turned the final page.
List(s) this item appears in: 9. Your Best Reads of 2017
Tags from this library: No tags from this library for this title. Log in to add tags.
    average rating: 0.0 (0 votes)
Item type Current location Collection Call number Copy number Status Date due
Fiction Davis (Central) Library
Fiction Collection
Fiction Collection FRAS 1 Checked out 11/09/2019

Enhanced descriptions from Syndetics:

Set against the Second World War, this is a powerful and well-written wartime drama that asks the question, what would you do under fire? Perfect for fans of Annie Groves and Lily Baxter.

'A touching, thought-provoking saga' Lancashire Guardian

1939 . Irena is a young medical student living in Warsaw when the German army invade Poland. Those closest to her are dying and when Irena realises that no one is coming to Poland's aid, it's clear that she is alone. Forced to flee to Britain, Irena meets Richard, a RAF pilot who she's instantly drawn to and there's a glimmer of happiness on the horizon. And then the war becomes more brutal and in order to right a never-forgotten wrong Irena must make an impossible decision.

1989 . Decades later, Sarah's mother is left a home in Skye and another in Edinburgh following the death of Lord Glendale, a man she's never met, and only on the condition that Magdalena Drobnik, a woman she's never heard of, is no longer alive. Sarah's only clues to this mystery are two photographs she doesn't understand but she's determined to discover the truth, not knowing that she's about to begin a journey that will change her life.

Gripping, poignant and honest, We Shall Remember is an incredibly powerful story about the choices we make under fire. It will stay with you long after you've turned the final page.

1939. Irina is a young medical student living in Warsaw when the German army invade Poland. Those closest to her are dying and when Irina realises that no one is coming to Poland's aid, it's clear that she is alone. Forced to flee to England, Irina meets Richard, a RAF pilot who she's instantly drawn to and there's a glimmer of happiness on the horizon. And then the war becomes more brutal and in order to right a never-forgotten wrong Irina must make an impossible decision. 1989. Decades later, Sarah's mother is left a home in Skye and another in Edinburgh following the death of Lord Glendale, a man she's never met, and only on the condition that Magdalena Drobnik, a woman she's never heard of, is no longer alive. Sarah's only clues to this mystery are two photographs she doesn't understand but she's determined to discover the truth, not knowing that she's about to begin a journey that will change her entire life. Gripping, poignant and honest, We Shall Remember is an incredibly powerful story about the choices we make under fire. It will stay with you long after you've turned the final page.

Kōtui multi-version record.