Whanganuilibrary.com
Normal view MARC view ISBD view

After she's gone / Lisa Jackson.

By: Jackson, Lisa [author.].
Material type: materialTypeLabelBookSeries: Jackson, Lisa. West Coast: 3.Publisher: New York, NY : Kensington Books, 2016Copyright date: ©2016Edition: First Kensington hardcover edition.Description: 394 pages ; 24 cm.Content type: text Media type: unmediated Carrier type: volumeISBN: 9781617734656 (hardback).Other title: After she is gone.Subject(s): Sisters -- Fiction | Motion picture actors and actresses -- Fiction | Missing persons -- Fiction | Stalkers -- Fiction | Serial murders -- Fiction | Oregon -- FictionGenre/Form: Thrillers (Fiction) | Suspense fiction.DDC classification: 813/.54 Summary: Cassie Kramer and her younger sister, Allie, learned the hazards of fame long ago. Together, they'd survived the horror of a crazed fan who nearly killed their mother, former Hollywood actress Jenna Hughes. Still, Cassie moved to L.A., urging Allie to follow. As a team, they'd take the town by storm. But Allie, finally free of small-town Oregon, and just that little bit more beautiful, also proved to be more talented - and driven. Where Cassie got bit parts, Allie rose to stardom. But now her body double has been shot on the set of her latest movie and Allie is missing...
Tags from this library: No tags from this library for this title. Log in to add tags.
Fiction notes: Click to open in new window
    average rating: 0.0 (0 votes)
Item type Current location Collection Call number Copy number Status Date due
Fiction Davis (Central) Library
Fiction Collection
Fiction Collection JAC 1 Available

Enhanced descriptions from Syndetics:

In this explosive new thriller, #1 New York Times bestselling author Lisa Jackson delves into the deep bond between two sisters and their shared dream that becomes a harrowing nightmare of madness, hatred and jealousy…



Cassie Kramer and her younger sister, Allie, learned the hazards of fame long ago. Together, they'd survived the horror of a crazed fan who nearly killed their mother, former Hollywood actress Jenna Hughes. Still, Cassie moved to L.A., urging Allie to follow. As a team, they'd take the town by storm. But Allie, finally free of small-town Oregon, and just that little bit more beautiful, also proved to be more talented--and driven. Where Cassie got bit parts, Allie rose to stardom. But now her body double has been shot on the set of her latest movie--and Allie is missing.



Police discover that the last call to Allie's phone came from Cassie, though she has no recollection of making it. Instead of looking like a concerned relative, Cassie is starting to look like a suspect--the jealous sister who finally grew sick of playing a supporting role. As the tabloids go into a frenzy, Cassie ends up on a Portland psych ward. Is she just imagining the sinister figure who comes to her bedside, whispering about Allie--a visitor of whom there is no record? Is someone trying to help--or drive her mad?



Convinced she's the only one who can find Allie, Cassie checks herself out of the hospital. But a sudden slew of macabre murders-- each victim masked with a likeness of a member of Cassie's family--makes Cassie fear for her safety and her sanity. The only way to end the nightmare is to find out what really happened to Allie. And with each discovery, Cassie realizes that no one can be trusted to keep her safe--least of all herself…



Outstanding Praise For The Novels Of
Lisa Jackson



Close To Home



"Jackson definitely knows how to jangle readers' nerves… Close to Home is perfect for readers of Joy Fielding or fans of Mary Higgins Clark." -- Booklist



Tell Me



"Absolutely tension filled…Jackson is on top of her game." -- Suspense Magazine



You Don't Want To Know




"Lisa Jackson shows yet again why she is one of the best at romantic suspense. A pure nail biter." --Harlan Coben, # 1 New York Times bestselling author



"Shiveringly good suspense! Lisa Jackson ratchets up the tension as one woman's desperate search for her missing son takes her to the very brink of losing her husband, her sanity, her very self. Each chapter will leave you wondering who to trust. The answer: You don't want to know..." --Lisa Gardner, New York Times bestselling author



Devious



"Terrifying...a creepy thriller sure to please Jackson's many fans." -- Publishers Weekly



Without Mercy



"Her latest whodunit hits all the marks, taking readers on a nail-biting roller-coaster ride." -- Library Journal



"A juicy creep-a-thon…builds to a surprising cliffhanger ending." -- Publishers Weekly (starred review)



Malice



"Taut, twisty…Malice displays the skilled Jackson at her best yet." -- The Providence Journal

Cassie Kramer and her younger sister, Allie, learned the hazards of fame long ago. Together, they'd survived the horror of a crazed fan who nearly killed their mother, former Hollywood actress Jenna Hughes. Still, Cassie moved to L.A., urging Allie to follow. As a team, they'd take the town by storm. But Allie, finally free of small-town Oregon, and just that little bit more beautiful, also proved to be more talented - and driven. Where Cassie got bit parts, Allie rose to stardom. But now her body double has been shot on the set of her latest movie and Allie is missing...

Kotui multi-version record

2 5 7 8 11 13 22 24 27 28 34 37 60 68 91 92 93 94 96 98 102 103 109 115 130 132 133 134 138 141 142 149 151 159 161 162 164 165 168 175

Reviews provided by Syndetics

Publishers Weekly Review

Ten years after a serial killer tormented retired movie star Jenna Hughes and her two daughters, Cassie and Allie Kramer, in bestseller Jackson's Deep Freeze (2005), mother and now-grown daughters must contend with further angst and violence in this disappointing sequel. Allie, who's become a big movie star, disappears while Dead Heat, her latest film, is wrapping up in Portland, Ore. In addition, a prop gun turns out to be the real thing when the actress doubling for Allie is shot and almost killed. Psychologically unstable Cassie, who has a bit part in Dead Heat, embarks on a mission to find her missing sister. Flashbacks reveal the tortured relations between the sisters, their rivalry over roles and men, as Cassie flits between Los Angeles and Portland in search of answers. Meanwhile, various people involved with Dead Heat are murdered with grotesque clues seeming to point to Cassie as the killer. Jackson settles for a lot of smoke but little heat in this tepid thriller. Agent: Robin Rue, Writers House. (Jan.) © Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.

Booklist Review

Despite having endured plenty of sisterly squabbles, Cassie Kramer knows it's up to her to find younger sister Allie when Allie suddenly goes missing from the film set of Dead Heat. Cassie and Allie, daughters of '70s bombshell starlet Jenna Hughes, are both promising Hollywood actresses, but because Allie's career skyrocketed past Cassie's, causing a falling-out between the sisters, Cassie now with the police suspecting murder finds herself a person of interest. As other cast and crew members of Dead Heat are found dead, Cassie struggles to stay calm. With a history of institutionalization for psychosis, and an estranged, nearly ex-husband who is trying to win her back, Cassie has a lot at stake, which veteran genre author Jackson employs to generate near-constant suspense, weaving together disparate plot turns, directing a large cast of characters, and playing up movie-star egos and show-biz gossip to give the novel a vintage Hollywood feel. With moderate gore, a hint of romance, and many dynamic female characters, After She's Gone is a sure bet for Jackson's popular blend of women's fiction and suspense. A mysterious new character in the epilogue suggests more to come.--Grant, Sarah Copyright 2015 Booklist