Whanganuilibrary.com
Normal view MARC view ISBD view

Cane and Abe / James Grippando.

By: Grippando, James, 1958- [author.].
Material type: materialTypeLabelBookNew York : HarperCollinsPublishers, [2014] ©2014Description: 356 pages ; 24 cm.Content type: text Media type: unmediated Carrier type: volumeISBN: 9780062295392; 006229539X.Subject(s): Public prosecutors -- Florida -- Miami -- Fiction | Missing persons -- Fiction | Serial murders -- Fiction | Miami (Fla.) -- FictionGenre/Form: Detective and mystery fiction. | Legal stories. | Thrillers (Fiction)DDC classification: 813/.54
Contents:
Miami's top prosecutor becomes a prime suspect when his wife's disappearance may have a chilling connection to the vicious murders of beautiful women in the Florida Everglades. --
His first wife, Samantha, died too soon. Abe Beckham's new wife Angelina has helped him through the loss, and he's managed to remain a star prosecutor at the Miami State Attorney's Office through his ups and downs. Then a woman's body is discovered dumped in the Everglades, and Abe is called upon to monitor the investigation. When Angelina goes missing, the respected attorney finds himself under fire.
Summary: His first wife, Samantha, died too soon. Abe Beckham's new wife Angelina has helped him through the loss, and he's managed to remain a star prosecutor at the Miami State Attorney's Office through his ups and downs. Then a woman's body is discovered dumped in the Everglades, and Abe is called upon to monitor the investigation. When Angelina goes missing, the respected attorney finds himself under fire.
Tags from this library: No tags from this library for this title. Log in to add tags.
Item type Current location Collection Call number Copy number Status Date due
Fiction Davis (Central) Library
Fiction Collection
Fiction Collection GRI 1 Available

Enhanced descriptions from Syndetics:

A spellbinding novel of suspense from New York Times bestselling author James Grippando, in which Miami's top prosecutor becomes a prime suspect in his wife's disappearance, which may have a chilling connection to the woman he can't forget.

Unbelievable was the word for her. Samantha Vine was unbelievably beautiful. It was unbelievable that she'd married me. Even more unbelievable that she was gone . . .

Samantha died too soon. Abe Beckham's new wife has helped him through the loss, but some say it was a step back to marry Angelina, a love from Abe's past. Abe doesn't want to hear it, and through the ups and downs, he's even managed to remain a star prosecutor at the Miami State Attorney's Office.

Then everything goes wrong. A woman's body is discovered dumped in the Everglades, and Abe is called upon to monitor the investigation. The FBI is tracking a killer in South Florida they call "Cutter" because his brutal methods harken back to Florida's dark past, when machete-wielding men cut sugarcane by hand in the blazing sun.

But when the feds discover that Abe had a brief encounter with the victim after Samantha's death, and when Angelina goes missing, the respected attorney finds himself under fire. Suspicion surrounds him. His closest friends, family, professional colleagues, and the media no longer trust his motives. Was Angelina right? Was their marriage not what they'd hoped for because he loved Samantha too much? Or was there another woman . . . and a husband with a dark side who simply wanted his new wife gone?

Miami's top prosecutor becomes a prime suspect when his wife's disappearance may have a chilling connection to the vicious murders of beautiful women in the Florida Everglades. --

His first wife, Samantha, died too soon. Abe Beckham's new wife Angelina has helped him through the loss, and he's managed to remain a star prosecutor at the Miami State Attorney's Office through his ups and downs. Then a woman's body is discovered dumped in the Everglades, and Abe is called upon to monitor the investigation. When Angelina goes missing, the respected attorney finds himself under fire.

His first wife, Samantha, died too soon. Abe Beckham's new wife Angelina has helped him through the loss, and he's managed to remain a star prosecutor at the Miami State Attorney's Office through his ups and downs. Then a woman's body is discovered dumped in the Everglades, and Abe is called upon to monitor the investigation. When Angelina goes missing, the respected attorney finds himself under fire.

5 7 11 18 19 20 22 27 34 37 42 68 74 103 151 175 180 182 183 184

Reviews provided by Syndetics

Library Journal Review

Representing the Office of the State Attorney for Miami-Dade County, Abe Beckham is called to a crime scene; the body of a woman had been found in the Everglades. The FBI suspects it is the fifth victim of a serial killer terrorizing south Florida who dumps his bodies in sugar cane fields. As Abe monitors this new case, he also juggles the complications of his family life. Losing his first wife to cancer, he has done his best to move on and has married a former girlfriend. However, Abe's close ties to his first wife's brother and father is straining his relationship with his second wife. The situation grows grim when Abe must disclose that he knew the victim; he becomes even more of a suspect when his wife disappears. Now Abe must find out what happened as the FBI watches his every move. Verdict Best-selling author and attorney Grippando, known for his "Jack Swyteck" series, has produced a solid, quick-paced stand-alone thriller. His incorporation of the appalling history of the sugar cane industry provides an integral backdrop. For readers who enjoy Greg Iles or Brad Meltzer.-Joy Gunn, Paseo Verde Lib., Henderson, NV (c) Copyright 2014. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Publishers Weekly Review

Abe Beckham, the narrator of much of this gripping but flawed stand-alone from bestseller Grippando (Need You Now), still mourns the death of his first wife, Samantha Vine. That's why Abe, senior trial counsel at the state attorney's office in Miami-Dade County, keeps close contact with Samantha's family. This closeness doesn't sit well with his second wife, Angelina, who wants him to cut all ties with the Vines. Abe complicates his professional life by monitoring the murder investigation of an old flame, Miami attorney Tyla Tomkins, whose mangled body was found in the Everglades. Is Tyla a victim of the machete-wielding serial killer known as Cutter? When Angelina disappears, FBI agent Victoria Santos wonders whether Abe was still romantically involved with Tyla. Grippando keeps the tension high with plausible twists, until the plot comes apart in a rushed ending. Agent: Richard Pine, Inkwell Management. (Jan.) © Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.

Booklist Review

Here's another fine stand-alone from the author of the Jack Swyteck legal thrillers. Abe Beckham, a Florida assistant state's attorney, has a tangled history: he's married to Angelina, but before that, he was married to Samantha, who died; and before that, he was in a relationship with Angelina. Oh, and there's Tyla, an attorney Abe had something going with several years ago, and who has just been murdered, apparently not long after making several calls to Abe's cell phone (he says he never got the calls). And there's a serial killer, dubbed Cutter, who might be responsible for Tyla's death, although a disagreeable FBI agent is convinced Abe's behind the murder, just as she's convinced Abe's responsible for the sudden disappearance of Angelina. Grippando writes the heck out of this labyrinthine story, keeping us flipping the pages at a frantic pace, trying to figure out what's going on here. Abe is a very well-drawn character we're not quite sure whether we should like him or not and somehow Grippando manages to answer all of the story's questions without making the end of the book feel contrived. Very nicely done.--Pitt, David Copyright 2014 Booklist

Kirkus Book Review

A stand-alone from the creator of adventurous lawyer Jack Swyteck (Black Horizon, 2014, etc.) that plumbs a Miami prosecutor's nightmare when a serial killer strikes a little too close to home.The Cutter, as he's been dubbed, has used a machete on four white women who'd dated black men, capping his gruesome murders by sprinkling ashes on his victims' foreheads. So why is his fifth victim highflying black attorney Tyla Tomkins, and where are the ashes this time? These are big problems, but Abe Beckham, a white senior trial counsel at the Miami-Dade Office of the State Attorney, is preoccupied with a more personal problem: how much FBI agent Victoria Santos, who's coordinating the hunt for the Cutter, will find out about his own relationship with Tyla. Abe, who married his old girlfriend Angelina after his African-American first wife, Samantha Vine, died, already has his hands full with Samantha's bipolar older brother, J.T., whose erratic behavior is constantly testing the promise Abe made his dying wife to look after him. Now he finds himself pondering possible links between the killings and the powerful Cortinas Sugar company and stressing out when Santos uncovers evidence that he'd seen Tyla a lot more recently than he'd told either her or Angelina. The pot comes to a rolling boil when Angelina vanishes shortly after capping a fight with Abe by throwing him out of their house. Has Abe killed his missing wife? Is her disappearance an attempt to incriminate him? Is Abe the Cutter? Did he kill Tyla as a copycat? And if he isn't and he didn't, who's gone to such trouble to frame him? If only the answers to these questions were as good as the questions. As it is, Grippando supplies a satisfyingly wild ride through Presumed Innocent territory before the inevitable letdown. Copyright Kirkus Reviews, used with permission.