Whanganuilibrary.com
Normal view MARC view ISBD view

Kūpapa : the bitter legacy of Māori alliances with the Crown / Ron Crosby.

By: Crosby, R. D. (Ron D.) [author.].
Material type: materialTypeLabelBookPublisher: Auckland : Penguin, 2015Description: 504 p. : illustrations, maps, portraits ; 27 cm.Content type: text Media type: unmediated Carrier type: volumeISBN: 9780143573111.Subject(s): Maori (New Zealand people) -- Wars -- History -- 19th century | Kūpapa | Pakanga | Ringa kaha | Kōrero nehe | Noho-ā-iwi | New Zealand -- History -- New Zealand Wars, 1843-1847 | New Zealand -- History -- New Zealand Wars, 1860-1872DDC classification: 993.022 Summary: "Kupapa has been variously defined as being neutral (in a quarrel), being loyal, being an ally, or being a traitor. The word itself has come to be as hotly contested as its history. The Treaty of Waitangi struck a bargain between two parties: the Crown and Maori. Its promises of security, however, were followed from 1845 to 1872 by a series of volatile and bloody conflicts commonly known as the New Zealand Wars. Many people today believe that these wars were fought solely between the Crown and Maori, when the reality is that Maori aligned with both sides - resulting in three participants with differing viewpoints. It is rarely recognised, for instance, that Te Wherowhero, later the first Maori King, was originally a strong supporter of the Crown; or that the numbers of Maori who aligned with the Crown or were neutral probably exceeded those who fought against it. Or that the frontline combat over the final two years was fought almost exclusively between opposing Maori forces." -- Publisher information.
Tags from this library: No tags from this library for this title. Log in to add tags.
    average rating: 0.0 (0 votes)
Item type Current location Collection Call number Copy number Status Date due
Non-Fiction Alexander Library | Te Rerenga Mai o Te Kauru
Non-Fiction
Non-Fiction 993.022 CRO 1 Available
Te Taurawhiri Non-Fiction Davis (Central) Library
Te Taurawhiri
Te Taurawhiri 993.022 CRO 2 Available

Enhanced descriptions from Syndetics:

From the author of The Musket Wars and NZSAS- The First Fifty Years comes a n incisive, absorbing and provocative historical account of 'kupapa'- Maori who were allied to the Crown during the New Zealand Wars. Kupapa has been variously defined as being neutral (in a quarrel), being loyal, being an ally, or being a traitor. The word itself has come to be as hotly contested as its history. The Treaty of Waitangi struck a bargain between two parties- the Crown and Maori. Its promises of security, however, were followed from 1845 to 1872 by a series of volatile and bloody conflicts commonly known as the New Zealand Wars. Many people today believe that these wars were fought solely between the Crown and Maori, when the reality is that Maori aligned with both sides i resulting in three participants with differing viewpoints. It is rarely recognised, for instance, that Te Wherowhero, later the first Maori King, was originally a strong supporter of the Crown; or that the numbers of Maori who aligned with the Crown or were neutral probably exceeded those who fought against it. Or that the frontline combat over the final two years was fought almost exclusively between opposing Maori forces. Captivating, comprehensive and thought-provoking, Kupapa addresses those realities, the complex Treaty-related reasons for them, and the cynical use of Maori by the Crown for its own purposes. In the vein of Belich, Binney and Salmond, author Ron Crosby, a lawyer and recent member of the Waitangi Tribunal, provides an unstinting examination that i for the first time ever i focuses on a critical component of what Maori might consider New Zealand's very own civil wars. An important work that gives voice to an unspoken chapter of New Zealand history.

Includes bibliographical references (pages 480-484) and index.

"Kupapa has been variously defined as being neutral (in a quarrel), being loyal, being an ally, or being a traitor. The word itself has come to be as hotly contested as its history. The Treaty of Waitangi struck a bargain between two parties: the Crown and Maori. Its promises of security, however, were followed from 1845 to 1872 by a series of volatile and bloody conflicts commonly known as the New Zealand Wars. Many people today believe that these wars were fought solely between the Crown and Maori, when the reality is that Maori aligned with both sides - resulting in three participants with differing viewpoints. It is rarely recognised, for instance, that Te Wherowhero, later the first Maori King, was originally a strong supporter of the Crown; or that the numbers of Maori who aligned with the Crown or were neutral probably exceeded those who fought against it. Or that the frontline combat over the final two years was fought almost exclusively between opposing Maori forces." -- Publisher information.

2 5 6 7 11 12 18 19 20 22 27 37 44 49 68 76 79 91 92 93 94 96 97 100 130 132 135 137 144 147 149 151 159 164 175